Simplenote for Android

Additional

Language
Java
Version
2.5 (Apr 6, 2020)
Created
Sep 26, 2012
Updated
Apr 9, 2020
Owner
Automattic
Contributors
Matt Chowning (mchowning)
Maxime Biais (maxme)
nthcircle
James Treanor (jtreanor)
Eric Brandwein (ericbrandwein)
Łukasz Rutkowski (Tunous)
Mohammad Jangda (mjangda)
Ondrej Ruttkay (0nko)
Nick Bradbury (nbradbury)
Robert “Beau” Collins (beaucollins)
Tobias Johnson (irontoby)
Joen Asmussen (jasmussen)
Mike Johnston (mikejohnstn)
Danilo Ercoli (daniloercoli)
tomwitkin
Dan Roundhill (roundhill)
Tyler Heck (theck13)
Anitaa Murthy (anitaa1990)
Show all (39)39
Activity
Badge
Generate
Download
Source code
APK file

Announcement

Simplenote for Android

Simplenote for Android. Learn more at Simplenote.com.

How to Configure

  • Clone repository.
git clone https://github.com/Automattic/simplenote-android.git
cd simplenote-android
  • Import into Android Studio using the Gradle build option. You may need to create a local.properties file with the absolute path to the Android SDK. Sample local.properties:
sdk.dir=/Applications/Android Studio.app/sdk
  • Install debug build with Android Studio or command line with:
./gradlew installDebug
  • Create a new account in order to use a development build. Logging in with an existing Simplenote account won't work. Use the account for testing purposes only as all note data will be periodically cleared out on the server.

Note: Simplenote API features such as sharing and publishing will not work with development builds.

Android Wear

To properly install the wear app, run ./gradlew assembleRelease to package up the app and then adb install with the generated .apk to the host device.

If you want to debug the Wear app, simply connect the device to adb and then run the Wear project from Android Studio.