Robolectric

General

Category
Free
Tag
Testing
License
MIT License
Registered
Jul 5, 2014
Favorites
0
Link
https://github.com/robolectric/robolectric
See also
AndroidGradleStarter
selendroid
ConditionWatcher
RxTest
Vago

Additional

Language
Java
Version
robolectric-4.5-alpha-2 (Nov 2, 2020)
Created
Aug 28, 2010
Updated
Nov 13, 2020
Owner
Robolectric (robolectric)
Contributors
Robert Taylor (roberttaylor426)
Charles Munger (charlesmunger)
Kiran Ryali (kryali)
Alexander Blom (lexs)
Hilal Alsibai (xiphirx)
D. Koutsogiorgas (dnkoutso)
matt swanson (swanson)
Christian Williams (xian)
Jerzy Chałupski (chalup)
Kay-Uwe Janssen (dodgex)
Roman Mazur (roman-mazur)
Jason Neufeld (jnlopar)
Eric Denman (edenman)
Ray Ryan (rjrjr)
Sam (sjudd)
David Marques (dpsm)
Patrick Forhan (pforhan)
Erich Douglass (erd)
Show all (195)195
Activity
Badge
Generate
Download
Source code

Blurb

Robolectric is the industry-standard unit testing framework for Android. With Robolectric, your tests run in a simulated Android environment inside a JVM, without the overhead of an emulator.

Usage

Here's an example of a simple test written using Robolectric:

@RunWith(AndroidJUnit4.class)
public class MyActivityTest {

  @Test
  public void clickingButton_shouldChangeResultsViewText() throws Exception {
    Activity activity = Robolectric.setupActivity(MyActivity.class);

    Button button = (Button) activity.findViewById(R.id.press_me_button);
    TextView results = (TextView) activity.findViewById(R.id.results_text_view);

    button.performClick();
    assertThat(results.getText().toString(), equalTo("Testing Android Rocks!"));
  }
}

For more information about how to install and use Robolectric on your project, extend its functionality, and join the community of contributors, please visit http://robolectric.org.

Install

Starting a New Project

If you'd like to start a new project with Robolectric tests you can refer to deckard (for either maven or gradle) as a guide to setting up both Android and Robolectric on your machine.

build.gradle:

testImplementation "org.robolectric:robolectric:4.4"

Building And Contributing

Robolectric is built using Gradle. Both IntelliJ and Android Studio can import the top-level build.gradle file and will automatically generate their project files from it.

Robolectric supports running tests against multiple Android API levels. The work it must do to support each API level is slightly different, so its shadows are built separately for each. To build shadows for every API version, run:

./gradlew clean assemble install compileTestJava

Using Snapshots

If you would like to live on the bleeding edge, you can try running against a snapshot build. Keep in mind that snapshots represent the most recent changes on master and may contain bugs.

build.gradle:

repositories {
    maven { url "https://oss.sonatype.org/content/repositories/snapshots" }
}

dependencies {
    testImplementation "org.robolectric:robolectric:4.5-SNAPSHOT"
}