rest-assured

Additional

Language
Java
Version
rest-assured-3.0.1 (Sep 2, 2016)
Created
Oct 21, 2010
Updated
Aug 18, 2020
Owner
REST Assured (rest-assured)
Contributors
Johan Haleby (johanhaleby)
Marcin Grzejszczak (marcingrzejszczak)
Bartłomiej Piech (delor)
Kirill Merkushev (lanwen)
Jonathan Leitschuh (JLLeitschuh)
valery1707
Pascal Schumacher (PascalSchumacher)
Rüdiger Herrmann (rherrmann)
Alberto Scotto (alb-i986)
Eric Pabst (epabst)
Ben Severson (BenSeverson)
Tomasz Guzik (tguzik)
Sergey Podgurskiy (spodgurskiy)
Luke Bunselmeyer (wmluke)
Adrien (abustany)
Jacek Kunicki (rucek)
Erik Ogenvik (erikogenvik)
Ranil Wijeyratne (stravag)
Show all (95)95
Activity
Badge
Generate
Download
Source code

Advertising

Testing and validation of REST services in Java is harder than in dynamic languages such as Ruby and Groovy. REST Assured brings the simplicity of using these languages into the Java domain.

News

  • 2020-07-03: REST Assured 4.3.1 is released with various improvements and bug fixes. See change log for more details.
  • 2020-03-13: REST Assured 4.3.0 is released. Groovy is updated to version 3.0.2 as well as various improvements and bug fixes. See change log for more details.
  • 2020-01-17: REST Assured 4.2.0 is released. It adds a module bringing Kotlin extension functions to Spring Mock Mvc, support for Jakarta EE JSON Binding (JSON-B) specification using Eclipse Yasson, as well as blacklisting headers from being logged and other improvements. See release notes and change log for more details.

Older News

Examples

Here's an example of how to make a GET request and validate the JSON or XML response:

get("/lotto").then().assertThat().body("lotto.lottoId", equalTo(5));

Get and verify all winner ids:

get("/lotto").then().assertThat().body("lotto.winners.winnerId", hasItems(23, 54));

Using parameters:

given().
    param("key1", "value1").
    param("key2", "value2").
when().
    post("/somewhere").
then().
    body(containsString("OK"));

Using X-Path (XML only):

given().
    params("firstName", "John", "lastName", "Doe").
when().
    post("/greetMe").
then().
    body(hasXPath("/greeting/firstName[text()='John']")).

Need authentication? REST Assured provides several authentication mechanisms:

given().auth().basic(username, password).when().get("/secured").then().statusCode(200);

Getting and parsing a response body:

// Example with JsonPath
String json = get("/lotto").asString();
List<String> winnderIds = from(json).get("lotto.winners.winnerId");
    
// Example with XmlPath
String xml = post("/shopping").andReturn().body().asString();
Node category = from(xml).get("shopping.category[0]");

REST Assured supports any HTTP method but has explicit support for POST, GET, PUT, DELETE, OPTIONS, PATCH and HEAD and includes specifying and validating e.g. parameters, headers, cookies and body easily.

Documentation

Support and discussion

Join the mailing list at our Google group.

Links