j2objc

Additional

Language
Java
Version
2.6 (Apr 22, 2020)
Created
Jan 31, 2014
Updated
Apr 23, 2020
Owner
Google (google)
Contributors
Kurt Alfred Kluever (kluever)
Colin Decker (cgdecker)
Jasm Sison (Buggaboo)
Tom Ball (tomball)
Tamir Duberstein (tamird)
Liam Miller-Cushon (cushon)
Chris Povirk (cpovirk)
Louis Wasserman (lowasser)
Ian Roth (ianroth)
Mike Thvedt (mthvedt)
Keith Stanger (kstanger)
aragos
Advay Mengle (advayDev1)
Seth Kirby (sjkirby)
Jorg Brown (jorgbrown)
Lukhnos Liu (lukhnos)
Alan Malloy (amalloy)
Nick Glorioso (nglorioso)
Show all (67)67
Activity
Badge
Generate
Download
Source code

Advertising

J2ObjC: Java to Objective-C Translator and Runtime

Project site: https://j2objc.orgJ2ObjC blog:https://j2objc.blogspot.comQuestions and discussion:https://groups.google.com/group/j2objc-discuss


What J2ObjC Is

J2ObjC is an open-source command-line tool from Google that translates Java source code to Objective-C for the iOS (iPhone/iPad) platform. This tool enables Java source to be part of an iOS application's build, as no editing of the generated files is necessary. The goal is to write an app's non-UI code (such as application logic and data models) in Java, which is then shared by web apps (using GWT), Android apps, and iOS apps.

J2ObjC supports most Java language and runtime features required by client-side application developers, including exceptions, inner and anonymous classes, generic types, threads and reflection. JUnit test translation and execution is also supported.

J2ObjC is currently beta quality. Several Google projects rely on it, but when new projects first start working with it, they usually find new bugs to be fixed. If you run into issues with your project, please report them!

What J2ObjC isn't

J2ObjC does not provide any sort of platform-independent UI toolkit, nor are there any plans to do so in the future. We believe that iOS UI code needs to be written in Objective-C, Objective-C++ or Swift using Apple's iOS SDK (Android UIs using Android's API, web app UIs using GWT, etc.).

J2ObjC cannot convert Android binary applications. Developers must have source code for their Android app, which they either own or are licensed to use.

Requirements

License

This library is distributed under the Apache 2.0 license found in the LICENSE file. The protocol buffers library is distributed under the same BSD license as Google's protocol buffers. See its README and LICENSE.

Running on GNU/Linux

To build and run on GNU/Linux, install the Darling project, then following its Compile and Run a Program example. Please note that j2objc is only supported on iOS/macOS.