error-prone

General

Category
Free
Tag
Static Analysis Tools
License
N/A
Registered
Jan 28, 2015
Favorites
2
Link
https://github.com/google/error-prone
See also
APKinspector
Soot
Hopper
QARK
PMD

Additional

Language
Java
Version
v2.4.0 (May 30, 2020)
Created
Aug 22, 2014
Updated
Sep 7, 2020
Owner
Google (google)
Contributors
Yigit Boyar (yigit)
√Čamonn McManus (eamonnmcmanus)
Steven Goldfeder (sgoldfed)
Thomas Broyer (tbroyer)
David Pursehouse (dpursehouse)
Sam Berlin (sameb)
Kurt Alfred Kluever (kluever)
Colin Decker (cgdecker)
Said Tahsin Dane (tasomaniac)
Ron Shapiro (ronshapiro)
Gregory Kick (gk5885)
Jake Wharton (JakeWharton)
Christian Edward Gruber (cgruber)
David Ostrovsky (davido)
Liam Miller-Cushon (cushon)
Adam Goode (agoode)
Matthew Dempsky (mdempsky)
Bill Pugh (billpugh)
Show all (173)173
Activity
Badge
Generate
Download
Source code

Announcement

Error Prone

Error Prone is a static analysis tool for Java that catches common programming mistakes at compile-time.

public class ShortSet {
  public static void main (String[] args) {
    Set<Short> s = new HashSet<>();
    for (short i = 0; i < 100; i++) {
      s.add(i);
      s.remove(i - 1);
    }
    System.out.println(s.size());
  }
}
error: [CollectionIncompatibleType] Argument 'i - 1' should not be passed to this method;
its type int is not compatible with its collection's type argument Short
      s.remove(i - 1);
              ^
    (see https://errorprone.info/bugpattern/CollectionIncompatibleType)
1 error

Getting Started

Our documentation is at errorprone.info.

Error Prone works with Bazel, Maven, Ant, and Gradle. See our installation instructions for details.

Developing Error Prone

Developing and building Error Prone is documented on the wiki.

Links